Click here for Site Map



2001 IOWATER Volunteer Awards


IOWATER Volunteer of the Year

Curtis Lundy

Curtis began monitoring Duck Creek in Davenport in 1998 with the Izaak Walton League's Save Our Stream program and has been with IOWATER since near its inception. Curtis's enthusiasm and coalition-building skills helped form the Iowa Riverbend Streamkeepers, uniting teachers, state and federal government agencies, conservation groups, and the Riverboat Development Authority in a five-county area monitoring strategy.

IOWATER Professional of the Year

 Lora Friest.

Lora is the project coordinator for the Upper Iowa River Watershed Project (RC&D for NE IA Inc.) in northeast Iowa. Through her efforts, over 80 IOWATER sites and dozens of volunteers and professionals have been coordinated and focused on the 640-thousand acre watershed. Lora has repeatedly helped IOWATER "push the limits" on procedures through advising and participation.

Volunteer Organization of the Year

Hawkeye Fly Fishing Association

 The Hawkeye Fly Fishing Association was founded in 1975 by a small group of Iowa anglers and conservationists dedicated to the promotion of fly fishing and conservation work to preserve Iowa's fly-fishing waters. The association is an active advocate for environmental policy, participating directly in the saving of French Creek and expressing support for strong water-quality standards through the Iowa Department of Natural Resources. Through Ron’s leadership, his students have also prepared presentations for city councils, service groups, the local school board, state school board conventions, state and national teacher workshops and conferences, and four presentations at the school per year

Clipboard Award (Most Data Submitted)

Don Lund

Donald has proven a tireless volunteer for many years within the Hawkeye Fly Fishing Association. His active pursuits of fly-fishing and dog tracking in addition to his love of the outdoors enhance his contributions to the IOWATER database. Don spreads his volunteer work over eastern Iowa, including areas in Fayette, Howard, Johnson, and Winneshiek County.

Clipboard Award (Most Data Submitted)

James Martin

When it comes to energy, James is definitely a leader. He and cohort Brian Emerson have established a comprehensive Web organization, "Watersheds Unite." In addition to his prolific volunteer water quality monitoring on Snyder Creek, James also is a valuable volunteer for the Johnson County Soil and Water Conservation District with his extensive Geographical Information System (GIS) expertise.